Searching for things!

Looking at the top posts and pages statistics I see that ‘Search‘ is popular.

How to find things again?

My own solution - Evernote because its search facility is awesome (here’s why), even when I don’t tag resources all that well, Evernote finds them again!
Evernote is the ultimate online notebook – an outstanding application for capturing just about anything you want from wherever you want and finding it again! I would recommend it for both teachers and students. Create a note using a phone or any web browser or use a desktop application. See this link for a short introductory video and a video library with many helpful tutorials. Evernote have also created a clear guide to getting started.

As a teacher I use Evernote all the time and have a notebook for each class I teach as well as numerous other notebooks.

I also use Evernote shared notebooks as a way of sharing information, for example see Mathematics videosQR codes and very appropriately some Evernote links! Having used a shared notebook to share some useful resources with students at school, some students then created their own accounts.

The free version of Evernote is excellent and more than adequate for millions of users! (Millions of users has to be good – I don’t think Evernote will go away any time soon!)

For a simple way to bookmark favourite websites I like Diigo because I can then access my favourite sites from anywhere but lately, wanting to be sure of a backup plan – I have been sending all my bookmarks to Evernote courtesy of ifttt (if this then that).Using ifttt I can automate tasks such as sending my Diigo bookmarks to Evernote – there are many recipes available to copy. I also have a setting in Diigo which automatically sends all my bookmarks to Delicious – I’m so backed up!

A word of warning to Twitter users – don’t use the ifttt recipe (I speak from experience) to automatically thank someone for mentioning you in a tweet! If you take part in Twitter discussions your stream can suddenly turn into a constant ‘Thanks for the mention..’ series of tweets and I share Kelly Clay’s sentiments in his recent blog post that automating social media can make you ‘look like a jerk‘!

I also use my WordPress blogs to gather together groups of sites for example Mathematics Starters and Plenaries, Calculators and Games.

If you are wondering where you put your keys see Professor Solomon and his 12 principles to lead you to your lost object!