Web 2.0 tools – current favourites

In September I wrote about my Top Ten Tools.

Time to add to my own list, no particular order is implied, I use all these tools regularly, but there are certainly some important additions:

Wikispaces, which is in fact in the 2009 list mentioned in the previous post. This is free for educators, very easy to set up and for students easy to learn. Students can all edit pages making collaborative projects possible, discussions are also possible.

Storybird, I discovered this recently (thanks to Richard Byrne’s excellent ‘Free Technology for Teachers’) – great fun and easy to use. Set up an account (free) – choose your art work and get writing! I showed my Year 7 class and some of them decided they would try it. (Under 13s can sign up with parental permission). One student wrote a ‘story’ about sequences – a little editing still needed but it’s great and she was delighted that the illustrator commented.

I wrote about the various online whiteboards in an earlier post – it is worth mentioning that Sketchcast seems to be working again – I hope it will now be reliable because it is really easy to quickly respond to a student by writing a quick solution on a tool like Sketchcast. (Note that there seem to be several blank recordings on Sketchcast – from its troubled period I suspect),  I use a tool like this on our Moodle forums when I am answering student queries.

Wallwisher is extremely easy to use – an online noticeboard. A class could collaborate on a wall for revision. See some classroom uses here.

diigo it

Leave a Reply

