Regression

Since I will be studying the Bivariate Data section on one of our Year 13 (UK age 17-18) Statistics modules soon I was rather pleased to see that it is now really easy to use Desmos for Regression. The video shows how simple it it to use.

I tried this with some data from an A level question then also added another expression and table to see the values predicted by the model.

Regression

It is also simple to use Excel – just add the data, insert a chart – choose Scatter, then add a trend line.

Regression using Excel

Regression using Excel

…or we could just pop the points into WolframAlpha and have it do all the work to check our calculations!
Regression

 

3 comments on “Regression

      • I’ve known Wolfram Alpha for more than 4 years now but I barely used it. I only used it’s mobile app for minor calculations since Im more used to excel and mathematica. But recently, I realized that the program’s potential is very high, so I began to experiment with it more.

        Like

Leave a Reply

