RAG 123

At Maths Conference 4 recently I attended a session on marking, Martin Noon’s “Marking for the Reluctant Marker”. you can find Martin’s resources from the session here.

The session was a reminder to me that I really wanted to try the RAG 123 idea, something I had already read about from Kev Lister.

I decided I wanted a very simple version without the word level anywhere and created my version as follows: Marking Guide (Word) Marking Guide (pdf). (We assess students on their “Engagement with Learning”, criteria they are familiar with.)
RAG 123 CY

I also created a version for students to stick in their books for reference.
Student version RAG 123 student books (Word) RAG 123 student books (pdf)
RAG 123 student

Having tried this with my Year 9 class this week I am convinced this is something I want to try next academic year. Talking to a student later she said she thought it would be useful in other subjects too.

I explained the idea at the beginning of the lesson and let them know that I would ask them for their assessments at the end of the lesson, stressing that a 3 for understanding was a note to me that they needed help

Having collected the set of books it took a very short time to go through the set and see their I believe very honest RAG 123 assessment on the work on Functions we have been studying. I signed my agreement of their assessment. Some students also made additional comments to clarify / justify the reasons for their assessment.

 

 

Leave a Reply